Recent News

Here's recent news related to current and former Searle Scholars. Scholars: if you have any information you would like to contribute, please send it by e-mail to Doug Fambrough.

April 1, 2019

Searle Scholars Named for 2019

The Searle Scholars Program has named 15 scientists as Searle Scholars for 2019. The new Searle Scholars are pursuing fundamental, ground-breaking research in chemistry and the biomedical sciences and will each receive an award of $300,000 in flexible funding to support his or her work over the next three years.

The Searle Scholars Program makes grants to selected universities and research centers to support the independent research of exceptional young faculty in the biomedical sciences and chemistry who have recently been appointed as assistant professors on a tenure-track appointment. The Programs Scientific Director appoints an Advisory Board of eminent scientists who choose the Scholars based on rigorous standards aimed at finding the most creative talent interested in pursuing an academic research career. This year, 195 applications were considered from nominations by 137 universities and research institutions.

"Can anything be more gratifying than helping to kick-start the research programs of such meritorious women and men?" remarked Doug Fambrough, scientific director for the Searle Scholars Program. "Our Scientific Advisory Board has chosen these fifteen from a pool of the most promising young chemists and biomedical scientists in the country. Their research goals include: designing light-activated enzymes and super-safe pain-killers; understanding how the nervous system handles sensory information and how the brain provides precision control over movements; discovering the basis of tissue damage in leprosy; working out the molecular details of how DNA is organized for gene repression and expression; and exploring the ways in which bacteria defend against the viruses that attack them. From past experience, we know that these new Searle Scholars are virtually guaranteed to make major contributions to their fields over long careers in research science. Over almost forty years, our Program has consistently seen our awardees push the boundaries of basic science, becoming leaders in their fields and contributing to the betterment of peoplekind. Congratulations to the new Searle Scholars!"

2019 Searle Scholars

Dr. Joshua Arribere
University of California, Santa Cruz
A New Model for Nonsense-Mediated Decay

Dr. Nicholas Bellono
Harvard University
Molecular Mechanisms of Sensory Adaptation

Dr. Joseph Bondy-Denomy
University of California, San Francisco
Unlocking Bacterial Immunology to Develop Novel Biotechnology Tools

Dr. Jennifer Bridwell-Rabb
University of Michigan Medical School
A Photosynthetic Organism’s Toolbox for Adapting to Environmental Conditions

Dr. Paul Greer
University of Massachusetts Medical School
A Novel Approach to Understanding Alzheimer's Disease Pathogenesis

Dr. Kelley Harris
University of Washington
Mutation Rate Evolution: The Changing Origin Story of Genetic Variation

Dr. Wesley Legant
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Single Molecule Dynamics of Differentiation

Dr. Bluma Lesch
Yale University
Evolution and Molecular Control of Gene Regulation in the Animal Germ Line

Dr. Maayan Levy
University of Pennsylvania
Metabolite Circuits as Regulators of the Host-microbiome Interface

Dr. Cressida Madigan
University of California, San Diego
Immune-mediated Neurological Injury: Insights from a Zebrafish Model of Leprosy

Dr. Ricardo Mallarino
Princeton University
How to Build a Gliding Mammal: Deciphering the Positional Regulatory Code of Mammalian Skin

Dr. Aashish Manglik
University of California, San Francisco
Harnessing G Protein-coupled Receptor Protein Dynamics for Precision Pharmacology

Dr. Andrew Miri
Northwestern University
The Neural Basis of Motor Skills on the Timescale of Movement

Dr. Caroline Runyan
University of Pittsburgh
Communication between Networks: Context, Inhibition, and Neuromodulation

Dr. David Schneider
New York University
Integrative Circuits for using Predictions to Guide Behavior

Since 1981, 617 scientists have been named Searle Scholars. Including this year, the Program has awarded more than $174 million. Seventy-nine Searle Scholars have been inducted into the National Academy of Sciences. Nineteen Scholars have been recognized with a MacArthur Fellowship, known as the "genius grant," and a Searle Scholar has been awarded the Nobel Prize for Chemistry.

About the Searle Scholars Program
The Searle Scholars Program supports high risk, high reward research across a broad range of scientific disciplines. Grants are $300,000 for a three-year term with $100,000 payable each year of the grant. Searle Scholars Program is funded through grants from the family trusts to The Chicago Community Trust and administered by Kinship Foundation, the private operating foundation that manages the institutional philanthropy of the Searle Family.

News     Recent News  |  2014 News  |  2013 News  |  2012 News  |  2011 News  |  2010 News  |  2009 News  |  2008 News  |  2007 News  |  2006 News  |  2005 News  |  2004 News  |  2003 News  |  2002 News  |  2001 News  |  2000 News  |  1999 News  |  1998 News  |  1997 News