2003 News Archive

October 30, 2003

Catherine L. Drennan (2001 Searle Scholar) receives ASBMB Schering-Plough Award for 2003

The American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ASBMB) - Schering-Plough Research Institute Award is given annually in recognition of outstanding research contributions to biochemistry and molecular biology by an individual with no more than ten years post-doctoral experience. This award represents the highest honor that a junior faculty member working in area of biochemistry can receive. Recent past recipients include Searle Scholar Stephen Bell, who received the award in 2001.

Related Links

October 28, 2003

Searle Scholar Ronald T. Raines Receives Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award

Ron Raines (1990 Searle Scholar) has been named a 2004 recipient of the Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award by the American Chemical Society. The Cope Scholar Award is given "to recognize and encourage excellence in organic chemistry." He will receive the award and present an address on August 24, 2004 at the 228th ACS National Meeting in Philadelphia, PA.

Related Links

October 7, 2003

Technology Review Picks Two 2002 Scholars among Top 32 Young Scientists in Biotechnology and Medicine.

Ram Samudrala and Jay T. Groves were honored in the October 2003 issue of Techology Review as being among today's "most exciting young innovators: the lab dwellers, visionaries, and dealmakers whose work will utterly transform our world in the years to come."

Related Links

October 6, 2003

Xiaowei Zhuang, 2003 Searle Scholar, becomes fourth Searle Scholar to win MacArthur "genius" award.

The John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation announced October 5th the names of its 24 Fellows for 2003. Among them is new Searle Scholar Xiaowei Zhuang, in the Chemistry Department at Harvard University. Xiaowei's biography on the MacArthur website describes her research employing single molecule techniques to study protein folding and to study endocytosis and exocytosis in mammalian.

The MacArthur Foundation awards unrestricted fellowships of $500,000, paid over five years, "to talented individuals who have shown extraordinary originality and dedication in their creative pursuits and a marked capacity for self-direction." These awards, sometimes known as genius awards, are given to "writers, scientists, artists, social scientists, humanists, teachers, activists, or workers in other fields, with or without institutional affiliations. They may use their fellowship to advance their expertise, engage in interdisciplinary work, or, if they wish, to change fields or alter the direction of their careers."

Searle Scholars who received MacArthur awards in previous years are Richard C. Mulligan, David C. Page, and Geraldine C. Seydoux.

Related Links

July 10, 2003

Searle Scholars Jennifer Doudna, Michael Greenberg, and Dan Littman elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences elects each year a handful of new members in each of many fields. Within the sciences, our own Jennifer A. Doudna ('96 Scholar), Michael E. Greenberg ('87 Scholar) and Dan R. Littman ('86 Scholar and former Advisory Board member) were included in this very select group. Jennifer Doudnas research is on the structure of RNA molecules and of RNA-protein complexes. Michael Greenberg studies the formation and modification of connections in the brain that correlate with development of sensory capabilities and with learning. Dan Littmans research is focused on T-cells of the immune system and upon the mechanisms through which the AIDS virus infects these cells. Among the non-scientists elected this year were Kofi Annan, Water Cronkite, Antonin Scalia, and Bill Gates.

Related Links

July 10, 2003

Searle Scholars Cori Bargmann, Cynthia Kenyon, and Joe Takahashi elected to the National Academy of Sciences

Of the 72 newly elected members of the National Academy of Sciences, three are former Searle Scholars. Both Cornelia I. Bargmann ('92 Scholar) and Cynthia J. Kenyon ('86 Scholar) have been exploiting the molecular genetic advantages of nematodes in their research. Coris work has focused upon how the nervous system, particularly the sensory system, forms its connections during development and how the system then functions in behavior of the organisms. Cynthia's work is focused on genes involved not only in development and reproduction but also in aging. The work on aging has identified mechanisms that could be at work in people as well, and this work has garnered a great deal of publicity, including interviews with Cynthia on NPR. Another NPR interviewee, Joseph S. Takahashi ('85 Scholar), studies the mechanisms that regulate biorhythms. His lab has discovered the mammalians that control our biological clockand found mutations that change these rhythms. In addition to these Scholars, former Advisory Board member Rudolf Jaenisch was also elected to the NAS this year.

Related Links

March 19, 2003

Sharon Thompson-Schill (2000 Searle Scholar) to Receive Young Investigator Award from the Cognitive Neuroscience Society.

The award is presented each year "to recognize outstanding contributions by scientists early in their careers." Two awardees are named each year and will be honored at the annual meeting of the society in New York, March 23, 2003.

Related Links

January 16, 2003

Milan Mrksich (1996 Searle Scholar) one of two recipients of the Arthur C. Cope Young Scholar Awards, will present and address before the Division of Organic Chemistry at the 226th ACS National Meeting in New York, NY in September 2003.

News     Recent News  |  2014 News  |  2013 News  |  2012 News  |  2011 News  |  2010 News  |  2009 News  |  2008 News  |  2007 News  |  2006 News  |  2005 News  |  2004 News  |  2003 News  |  2002 News  |  2001 News  |  2000 News  |  1999 News  |  1998 News  |  1997 News